2003-09-24 @ 9:47 a.m. | Auntie Aimee, Again

Song in my head: Vox Humana by the Flower Kings

Mood: definitely sleepy but damn blissful

Current book: A First Rate Tragedy: Robert Falcon Scott and the Race to the South Pole


I have been waiting nine long months to write this entry, but I finally can - I'm an auntie again!!

Aimee (my sister-in-law) gave birth to Carrie (Carey? Keri? Kerry? I don't know how they spell it yet - I'm partial to Carey myself) Madison this morning around 3:00 or 4:00. I don't entirely remember, because I was dead asleep when my mother called. (I had put the phone in bed with me so I wouldn't have to get up when she called; when the phone rang I was so startled, I bolted out of bed thinking it was the alarm clock!)

Hee! My brother living in a house surrounded by girls - as my mother says, it's so appropriate.. :-)

I can't wait to meet her! When Chloe was born Marty snuck me into the hospital room to meet her half an hour after she was born and I got to hold her and kiss her and I was hit with this total wave of "oh my god, little girl, I am gonna be in love with you for the rest of my life" and it was absolute dead certainty. This morning in my bed, I was hit with the same wave for Carrie (oh my, I do hope they don't spell it that way - Neil loves to do his Piper Laurie impression: "They're all gonna laugh at you!" and who wants to have associations of Stephen King novels for your daughter?) - anyway, I can't wait to meet her and hold her and kiss her and tell her how much I love her.

Boy oh boy, do I love being Auntie Aimee!

Update: I spoke to my dad on my lunch break and my new niece's name is Kari. I had never before considered how many different ways there are to spell the name.. :-) Dad told me that they had really expected it would be a boy - Aimee had been convinced Chloe was a girl and she was right that time - that they hadn't really thought a girl's name and came up with it on the spot. If she'd been a boy, she would have been named Evan Marino, in honor of my brother's hero . Better than his original suggestion, Floyd Pink. I betcha Kari will be glad she was a girl.. :-)

Anyway, my dad says that she was given a perfect 10 on her Apgar test, and already has some hair (Chloe was bald for almost 2 years), but otherwise looks a lot like Chloe. He said that when he held her and talked to her, she opened her eyes and looked at him and started waving her arm up like she'd scored a touchdown (his phrasing!) He also said that Chloe is really happy to be a big sister. For some reason she's been calling Kari "Zachary", and keeps trying to open Kari's mouth up to show everyone her tongue. Sounds like that little family is just fine!! My oh my, October can't come soon enough!


previous | next
newest | archives | contact | design | dLand
5 comments so far


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com