2003-08-12 @ 9:25 p.m. | A short check in from the left coast!

Song in my head: The Rice-a-Roni jingle ;-)

Mood: otherwordly

Current book: a true crime paperback for sitting and reading in little cafes


I'm at a paid internet cafe and I've got 10 minutes to update and I don't know where to begin.

It is gonna be super hard to get on that plane come Monday morning.

San Francisco is exquisite. I am in love. I feel like New York is my tried and true love, and San Francisco is my on-the-sly lover, exotic and delicious and so heady and new.

Yesterday I walked among redwoods.

I put my feet in the Pacific Ocean and it went on forever, mindboggingly so, I couldn't grasp how much of it there is, so blue, so vast and oh the waves yet I understood why Balboa found it so pacific.

I stood on a craggy cliff and held onto the railing while winds like I've never known whipped through my hair, up my sleeves, and I felt like I should have been wearing a long flowing white dress on the cover of some gothic romance novel, looking out into the distance.

I stood on another cliff, right above the bay, right in Marin County over the bridge (and the Golden Gate Bridge is so beautiful I can't believe it; today on the bay cruise I had tears in my eyes as I gazed upon it, past it to the ocean past the bay) and I saw the whitest, clearest moon just looming over the skyline (I love the skyline, it makes me think of hilly Italian villages), and the moonlight on the bay illuminated so much of it, and you wouldn't believe how much you can see, miles and miles around and away and I understand the word panorama now. Moonlight on the bay, ripples and waves and quiet, I wish I had the words for this, I wish I could bottle it and send it to you all.

I have never ever seen anything like this place. I am head over heels in love. I am having a giddy passionate love affair and I want to shout it from the rooftops.

I rode the sideboards on the Powell/Market cable car and grinned like a fool the whole time. I have never seen hills like the hills of San Francisco!

Everything here is so lovely and clean and there are palm trees lining the streets.

Only 3 1/2 minutes to go and I still need to notify.

Someone read 175 pages yesterday, wow. I'm humbled.

Yes, that's it, this place humbles me. The world is so small and I am so humbled.

More to come...

previous | next
newest | archives | contact | design | dLand
1 comments so far


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com