2003-06-27 @ 6:37 p.m. | happy feet and more

Song in my head: Something from Nothing by Fate's Warning

Mood: mellow and introspective and dreamy and languid

Current book: Blindsighted by Karin Slaughter (I haven't finished Richard's book yet because it's too big to fit in my purse)


My good lord, you would think that I would learn my lesson.

I was in the middle of a great entry � upbeat topic, flowing, effortless prose, fun, light, happy � and whammo, I hit some wrong key and it all disappeared and I don�t feel like trying to recreate it and I�m feeling just pissy about it. Meh. The same thing happened with an email I was writing the other day. You�d think I�d just write it in a document that I can save and then copy and paste, baby. Well, finally, I did!

Not to mention that my boss Lauren � who is really just a great person, I adore her � was working at 3:30 yesterday afternoon to finish up the last things on her plate before she left for vacation, when whammo � her hard drive crashed. Dead in the water. I had a technician out here all day today who thankfully was able to recover her files, although now Dell has to come replace the hard drive. Insanity!

Some things that I touched upon much more eloquently the first time �round:

Someone found my webpage for searching for �Hot Little Aimee.�

I got new sneakers and my feet are delighted.

I bought a new shower curtain for the bathroom and I love the look of the sun streaming through the gauzy white fabric in the morning.

I�m in a peaceful good mood and enjoying very simple pleasures like the feel of the enveloping heat outside (since I�m only in it for about 10 minutes at a time!)

I really wish I hadn�t lost what else I�d written; I definitely enjoyed it! Bah.

But I do have to say � and this is something that didn�t get erased so I�m not as upset about it � this afternoon I have fallen in intellectual love with Cary Tennis, the Since You Asked columnist for Salon (It�s a paysite now, but you can read it for free by watching an ad; well worth it.) I have never encountered an advice columnist so thoughtful and considerate and not at all snarky and deep and compassionate. I felt as if this letter could have been written to me personally. I have been reading his columns all day and I�ll probably leave work late to read some more. What wisdom this guy has � where has he been all my life?

And hey, guess what? It�s 6:30 and I�ve been reading the column for 2 hours and boy am I all rattled in an exquisitely enjoyable way; please, go read, see what I mean, I can�t quite put my finger on it, but just to be thinking about these ideas he talks about, these ways to be so honest and introspective and know thyself, no I mean really know thyself, and be curious, and look at people how they really are, and take a risk and bite life and feel your passions yet stay still and be, and accept the unknowable messy vagaries of life, all of it.. I�m not at all phrasing this well, but wow oh wow, am I loving it nonetheless.

Happy weekending!


previous | next
newest | archives | contact | design | dLand
0 comments so far


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com