2003-06-25 @ 4:12 p.m. | Instant Gratification

Song in my head: none, surprisingly

Mood: meh

Current book: nothing new


All this Richard drama has got me thinking about some uncomfortable things.

Although it's not really about Richard at all, but the "is he gonna call or isn't he?" stuff has brought a lot of these issues up for me.

I don't often like being alone. I'm okay with it if I've got a full plate on my table, plans every night, and then one night I get to come home early and crash and hang out with Laika and watch Court TV. That kind of alone is usually okay - I do like some down time.

But if I don't have plans for more than a day or two in a row, I get antsy. Uncomfortable. Restless. Frantic. I sit at home and feel dissatisfied and know that I should do my laundry or sort and file my paperwork or change cat litter or vacuum the rug, but instead I more often than not read a book or watch TV or call friends or call Brian and Keith or Andi and Doron and invite myself over. One, because I love the company, I love spending time with people and friends and chatting and laughing and talking about serious stuff and just being with them. But I think I also just want to avoid the loneliness in my head and heart, the void that I'm afraid rests deep in my soul.

Okay, that's a bit melodramatic, which I'm good at. But I do feel really bad at being alone. I do well in groups. I do well when part of a romantic couple. Well, the Louis thing doesn't count; I didn't do well when I was with him at all. And that's relevant. I don't want to glom onto someone in a romantic way because I don't want to be alone. But I do want companionship, love, passion, etc., etc. I'm not sure yet how to reconcile the two. How do I become more comfortable being alone? How do I lessen the anxiety of "ohmygodisthathim" (no matter who he is) every time the phone rings? How do I stop feeling like Lisa Simpson addicted to the Corey Hotline? (I do hope someone out there gets that.)

I hate talking about this, actually. It feels like a moral failing. I feel like I should be 100% independent and happy in my own company, and the fact that I'm not makes me weak and clingy, etc., etc. Maybe I'm just a social creature, and that's okay... and that might be true, but I think that there's something deeper going on, some hole that I want to fill (and not like that, you pervert - yes, I mean you!), and I don't know what to do with it.

Just for ha-ha's sake:



what decade does your personality live in?

quiz brought to you by lady interference, ltd

Scary! I wouldn't do the 80s again if someone paid me!!


previous | next
newest | archives | contact | design | dLand
0 comments so far


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com