2003-06-23 @ 3:40 p.m. | Just when I think I know what's going on...

Song in my head: Angry Inch, as in Hedwig and the

Mood: flummoxed

Current book: A Ton of Trouble by Lynn Murray


My goodness. (For some reason, I have been saying "my goodness" whenever I want to exclaim something, which makes me sound like a prim schoolteacher, which I'm really not!)

So anyway, I called in this morning and told the office I'd be in later, after noon - I've been sleeping really badly and I needed to catch up, and my bosses were out. So I came in around 1:00, feeling just great - refreshed, energized, summery, etc. - and I had been sitting at my desk for perhaps two minutes when the phone rang and someone asked for me. It was Richard! I practically fell out of my chair - if there was anyone I never expected to hear from again, it was him.

Long story short, he (supposedly) was called out of town on an assignment at the last minute and just got back; he was really sorry that he didn't get ahold of me (he forgot my business card) and even tried looking up my place of employment online (we don't have a webpage yet, so he wouldn't have found anything anyway), and he was hoping to meet me for lunch this week if I would still be interested in seeing him. All within five minutes of walking in the door. Whew! I was totally discombobulated and just caught off guard. I'm definitely skeptical, but I agreed to meet him for lunch tomorrow; we'll see if that works out. I told him flat out that I hadn't expected to hear from him again. He said something like "I'm not the type of person to run away without saying anything," and I replied, "well, I don't know you well enough to know that!"

That's a good thing to keep in mind, too, that I don't really know him. This is tempering all the good surging hormonal feelings I got when we met. So I'll meet him tomorrow with a lot of optimism undercut with a healthy dose of skepticism.

I'm still just blown away. I've had the not-one-word brush off from guys before; I've just never had them come back and apologize before!

Never a dull moment, eh?

previous | next
newest | archives | contact | design | dLand
0 comments so far


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com