2003-04-24 @ 4:41 p.m. | Thursday is yoga day

Song in my head: not sure, can't figure it out

Mood: a touch moody, restless, impatient, dissatisfied

Current book: Back to Finding your Own North Star


First of all, lots and lots of thanks to Brian (Jill's Brian, to clarify for those of you who get confused about all my Brians), who gave me a mention - and lots of encouragement! - in his diary . You guys should check it out, he's always got lots of entertaining links and commentary.

He mentioned in today's entry an Onion article that I read on the train on the way home yesterday (I love reading the Onion in print!!) and I have to link to my favorite article from that issue. I can totally relate because, yes, I am a movie snob. (The sad thing is that the DVD collection pictured in the article is very similar to that of a friend of mine.. I love her to death but I've never figured out her taste in movies.)

I have had such a hard time focusing on work lately. I am getting so little done. I don't really care in one respect - because what needs to get done gets done - but I want to be motivated.

Tomorrow I get to go downtown to pick up a contract instead of going right to work, maybe that'll help shake me out of this funk.. I think this is just a combo of spring fever and me not feeling so great. And I need a vacation.

So, anyway, dear readers, let me give you an update on Doug the Email Guy I mentioned yesterday, the one with the secrets. Well, he told them to me and boy are they doozies! Let's see..

1) He's got two ex-wives

2) The second first wife isn't officially an ex

3) He started dating the not-ex-wife when she was 16 and he was 24 (he's now 33)

4) The not-ex-wife and he separated in the fall, but she just decided to make it final Saturday

5) He and the not-ex-wife had an open relationship and he considers himself polyamorous

6) He's already admitted to me that he's cheated before (on the non-poly wife? I can only guess!)

7) He has three kids

8) He hasn't seen his son in four years, and hasn't seen his daughters in five or six years

Okay, my dear Diaryland readers, help me out here.. remind me that no matter how nice this guy could be, I should run run run like hell.. please remind me of this! I'm serious, get yourself into my guestbook and write, "Aimee, you deserve better than that! No matter how nice you might think he is, no matter that he likes the same music and can make you laugh, he's not healthy! You don't need his drama in your life!!"

(It would be really cool if you guys chimed in, even though you don't have to.. I'd love to see who's reading.. I see in my stats that someone from NYU is reading and I don't know anyone from NYU - neat! I never figured anyone who didn't know me would find this stuff interesting.. :-)

I think what most got me going are these verbatim quotes:

"I'm trying to take it one day at a time... Some days I want to die... it's just too hard... "

and

"I essentially have no social skills at this point in life, so I'm dealing with a learning curve that most people faced in high school... "

and

"I'm trying to find the me that I lost when I was 6 years old at the hands of a careless person.... "

Especially that last sentence.. that could have been written verbatim by Louis the Louse.

I want to have a relationship like Shalini and Craig, like Brian and Keith, like Andi and Doron.. I'm not gonna find it with Doug the Email Guy. Not that I would get into a serious relationship anyway, but what would having a fling with him do for me other than prevent me from meeting someone right for me?

Why do these guys flock to me?

Why do I feel bad about cutting them out?

Why do I feel the urge to settle for the first guy who finds me attractive?

Why do I have to leave for yoga now before I've figured out the answers to all my life's questions?

Tune in tomorrow for more drama!

(Would you believe I suddenly couldn't remember where the exclamation point was located on the keyboard?)

(Will I ever leave for class on time?)

(Will I ever get tired of listening to myself talk, as it were?)

previous | next
newest | archives | contact | design | dLand
0 comments so far


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com