2003-02-24 @ 12:47 p.m. | Happy happy weekends

Song in my head: London Calling - all due to the 2 minutes of the Grammys I saw last night

Mood: swoony

Current book: The Inner Bitch Guide to Men, Relationships, Dating, etc.


I have had a marvelous, marvelous, delightful weekend - I didn't want it to end!!

Not to mention that last weekend was fantastic too! Perhaps I ought to start there.

I had my big old birthday/housewarming/

Valentine's Day/I got my stuff back celebration last Saturday, the 15th, and wow, what a wonderful time. Marty and Aimee came down Friday night, and then Neil (my cousin - he is almost as much a brother to me as Marty) drove all the way from North Carolina and arrived Saturday morning, and the four of us went shopping for snacks and drinks, and then everyone piled in Saturday night - Brian, Keith, Jill, Jill's Brian, JeaNa, Justin, their friend Wolfgang, Rose, my roommate Cynthia - I hope I'm not missing anyone!!

JeaNa and Justin brought me an area rug that totally warmed the room up - and it's so great for dancing and yoga and strength training. Not to mention that Laika seems to think it's the best scratching post she's ever encountered. And we all drank and smoked and snacked and talked and laughed all night - I didn't get to bed that night until 5 am Sunday!!

And it was SOOOO good to have Marty and Neil and Aimee with me - it doesn't get any better than that. We're so geographically scattered that it's a real and rare treat to spend a weekend together.

Poor Chloe - she wanted to come to New York too! Although I hear my mom spoiled her in CT, so I think she was just fine.

And then this weekend, Friday I went to a NYC NAAFA meeting and met a bunch of utterly wonderful people - we all went out to dinner and laughed for hours, and Saturday I met up with Cristin and Missa from the GabCafe, and had a great time (sense a trend?), and then yesterday was the biggest treat of all.

I met this couple at Friday's meeting, Andi and Doron, who I adored immediately. You know, when you just totally click immediately, and you just really like someone right away? Well, Andi mentioned that she needed to find a place to shop for clothes, and I said that I had a bunch of stuff that I wanted to donate, so Andi and Doron came over yesterday afternoon to check out what I had, and we wound up spending the entire day together!

They took me to lunch to thank me for the clothes (because I wouldn't let them pay me), and then Andi asked if I wanted to go to Kmart with them.. I had originally planned to hang out and watch Lifetime all day, but I realized, hey, new friends!

So we took the three bags of clothes to their apartment in the West 150s - it's a great place, huge, totally charming - and then went to Kmart, and then to Conway, and then for coffee, and then to the movies (we saw Old School, which was totally mindlessly ridiculously entertaining), and the three of us just couldn't stop talking and grinning and laughing, and if I'd been out with a single guy, I would have called it a fantastic date! I love new friend chemistry. So now I'm already having a game night on Friday! Okay, I know I sound like a bubbly 14 year old, I just had to get all of that out. (I feel so socially successful!!) Back to our regularly scheduled programing.

previous | next
newest | archives | contact | design | dLand
0 comments so far


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com