2003-02-03 @ 2:25 p.m. | Heat wave!

Song in my head: Needle in the Hay from the Royal Tenenbaums soundtrack

Mood: mellow and peaceful

Current book: Fat!So? by Marilyn Wann, just re-ordered it because the SDM never gave it back


Amazing, how it's probably only something around 40 degrees out today, yet it feels so refreshing compared to the past few weeks. I just finished eating a bagel at a sidewalk cafe and ate outside and wow, what a great thing, to be able to eat outside in February. I love outdoor cafes, where I can read and look up to watch the people going by, and the dogs, and listen to the city noises. It's so stimulating.

My DVD player is suddenly giving me a hell of a time - it doesn't want to read my DVDs - and I am in a near panic because what will I do without my movies? (Survive, of course, but still..) I am calling Panasonic tech support as soon as I get home tonight in the hopes that they can make it all better.

Friday night I watched The Royal Tenenbaums for the third time and oh my god, am I in love with this movie. (I watched it a 4th time to listen to the commentary Saturday morning.) Every single moment is magic to me - how do I explain? (Don't read on if you haven't seen it and you want to.) The whole courtship between Etheline and Henry - it is so incredibly touching, I just melt. The scene where Chas tells Henry that he's a widower too, and Henry puts his hand on Chas's shoulder - and Chas is so much smaller, and so vulnerable looking, and he's Ben Stiller! - and tells him, yes, I know - I just want to bawl my eyes out. The fact that Bill Murray, Bill Murray of Meatballs and Stripes plays this incredibly dignified and wounded and profound man, and does an incredible job - this just floors me! The fact that I actually enjoyed Gwyneth Paltrow in this movie shocks me. And I am so frustrated to be so overwhelmed with adoration and love for this story, these people, and have nothing but the clumsiest fumbling words to express it.

That said, I ought to get back to work. But I like the new template. A lot easier to read, a lot brighter. I feel like I'm not so much the Queen of the Underworld any more.. I guess my task is to figure out who I am now.

previous | next
newest | archives | contact | design | dLand
0 comments so far


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com