2003-02-02 @ 7:50 p.m. | Sunday at Brian and Keith's

Song in my head: Angry Inch from, you guessed it, Hedwig and the Angry Inch

Mood: calm, not at all tired

Current book: A Sue Miller novel that I'm really enjoying but can't remember the name of


Definitely more cheerful today than Friday.

Went on my date yesterday and oh my god, what a DUD!!! I feel like swearing off dating for a while. This Greg guy shows up at my place and we went to dinner and he kept watching the TV at the bar more than anything, and every time I tried to engage him in conversation, it went nowhere, and then all he wanted to do was go back to my place and watch a movie and I ordinarily wouldn't do that but he'd brought his dog with him (cause he couldn't leave the dog at home for a long time is what he said, but I should have just said to make other arrangements, next time - not that I can imagine another similar situation! - I definitely will)

So we watched the movie Clerks, one of my favorites, and he barely laughed), and he took his shoes off and stretched out all over my sofa and I was just shocked at the presumptuousness, and he kept inching closer and closer to me, and I didn't want him to touch me, and more than anything, he was just so deathly dull. There was this huge dearth of conversation, and believe me, I was trying.

It was excruciatingly dull, and I was so frustrated because all I could think of is, hello, this is supposed to be a getting to know you kind of a thing, and he did nothing to try to get to know me. Maybe something about me turned him off immediately, and decided that if he was Mr. Stoic, I wouldn't respond to him, but then why prolong the night?

I kept giving him a chance to chat me up, and he never did, so I'm totally proud of myself - I finally just said, hey, I'm sorry to call it a night, but I'm getting kind of tired. Normally I would have just sat there until 5:00 AM until he made the move to leave, so this was a big step for me. It just pissed me off - like come on, buddy, try a little. I am a low maintenence girlfriend for the most part but seems to me that on the first date for crying out loud, do something to try to interest me or woo me or SOMETHING. It's incomprehensible to me that he acted like I was a old girlfriend he could just hang out with and watch TV.

What a miserable date. I would have had more fun changing cat litter. I'm insulted, really. Not severely - he thankfully didn't try anything once I threw him out - but if someone doesn't feel like I'm worth the smallest amount of effort, what's the point? I don't want to date someone who is so unmotivated to be with me.

I guess at least it's practice for the whole dating scene.


previous | next
newest | archives | contact | design | dLand
0 comments so far


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com