2002-10-16 @ 2:04 p.m. | Miss America ain't gettin' laid

Song in my head:

Mood:

Current book:


First of all, I must share these lovely words that Shalini, my college roomie and dear friend, wrote to me re the ongoing difficulties with the ex:

"I was going to wish bad

stuff on him - but he's already got to live with the worst thing of all -

knowing that he had you in his life - an amazing, loving, beautiful, giving

woman - and now he has to live without you. And knowing that he'll never find

anyone who will ever give him all that you did. That's really the worst

punishment of all. And he brought it on himself."

Her words, and the ones Yishun wrote in my notes page, have sure helped dissipate my violent fantasies!!!

So anyway, the Miss America thing.. I usually don't give a flying fuck at a donut hole about Miss America and the whole "give me money 'cause I look like Barbie" thing. But I just stumbled upon a thing in the news about how the current Miss America's big project is "Teenage Sexual Abstinence: Respect Yourself, Protect Yourself." Now, I'm not suggesting that 14 and 15 year-olds should be having gang bangs in the locker room. I don't think free-for-all sexuality is necessarily healthy, and yeah, it can be scary dealing with your sexual feelings as adolescents. But this "just say no" stuff pisses me off to no end. Why is sexuality (especially female sexuality) seen as so dangerous? I'm sure that if you could guarantee 100% risk-free sex (no unwanted babies, no diseases), the abstinence-only camps would still be calling for "waiting until marriage". How disrespectful to my sexuality; marriage is not right for me, so I should just ignore my sexuality as a whole? What about being responsible as a sexual person? What if, god forbid, you're gay and can't get married? This isn't about respecting yourself at all. I've made sexual choices that were disrespectful to myself; the alternative for me is yes, sometimes abstinence - no sex is better than bad sex - but not a sweeping blanket "I'm gonna wait for marriage." Again, I'm not suggesting my way is right for everyone, but the idea of one way being right for everyone, and the idea that abstinence is the only way to respect yourself burns my big butt big time. Damn, this was more articulate in my head. Damn job getting in the way.

previous | next
newest | archives | contact | design | dLand
0 comments so far


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com